DAY 5 – Bacon Tomato and Basil Frittata

It’s my Friday off work!  And I truly enjoy making breakfast when I’m not working.  I get to take my time waking up with the husband, play with Charlie, check Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and deliberate on what to eat to breakfast.  Today it was an easy decision since I only had so many ingredients in the fridge. Okay, I’m lying.  I totally saw a Pinterest post the other day and thought the frittata with tomatoes looked beautiful, and have been thinking of what to make since 2 days ago.  I even ran to the store to grab some basil yesterday, because I knew I was gonna make this today!

20140207-111105.jpg

Bacon Tomato & Basil Frittata

  • Eggs – 4-6 depending on size
  • Bacon – 4 pieces
  • Tomato – 1 organic, sliced crosswise
  • Basil – about 6 leaves, chiffonade
  • Red onion
  • Garlic
  • Salt
  • Black pepper
  1. Cut the bacon in tiny pieces, place in hot pan and render the fat.
  2. Preheat oven to 375 (I used a convection, counter top oven).
  3. While waiting for the bacon, beat the eggs and season with salt & pepper.
  4. Remove bacon bits and fat from pan, leaving about 1 tablespoon.
  5. Sautee minced garlic & onions in bacon grease.
  6. Once onion has softened and garlic is golden, add the bacon bits, stir, then add the eggs.
  7. While eggs at side of pan starts to cook, arrange the tomato slices and basil with the eggs.
  8. When you see a little bit of the eggs turn to a solid golden at the side of the pan, stick the pan in the oven, and cook in 375 until the center of the pan is no longer runny.
  9. Take out of the oven, transfer to plate, slice & serve!

Leave a comment